BSO Board

The Health Minister, Robin Swann reappointed the Non-Executive Chair and four Non-Executive Lay Members to the Business Services Organisation (BSO) in December 2020.


Mrs Julie Erskine has been reappointed as Non-Executive Chair from 1 December 2020 to 30 November 2024. The Non-Executive Lay Members reappointed are as follows:  Mr Robert Bannon and Professor Dorothy Whittington from 1 December 2020 to 30 November 2024; Miss Patricia Gordon from 12 December 2020 to 11 December 2024; and Mr Mark Campbell from 9 January 2021 to 8 January 2025.


These appointments were made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland.




 Julie Erskine

Mrs Julie Erskine is the Chair of the Board of the Business Services Organisation and was appointed in December 2016.  She has previously held a number of non-executive positions for example the Probation Board Northern Ireland, Public Health Agency, Committee member of the Northern Ireland Social Care Council, Committee member for the Commissioner for Older People and the Commissioner for Children and Young People.  Julie has worked in the Healthcare sector for over 35 years. This has included the Private, Public and Voluntary Sector.

Acting Chief Executive



 Karen Bailey


Non-Executive Directors


 Patricia Gordon

Mrs Patricia Gordon had a career in the Health and Social Care sector in Northern Ireland where she worked in strategic planning, information and general management roles. Patricia was CEO of the Mater Hospital Trust from 1995 - 2003 and the CEO of the South and East Belfast Trust from 2003 - 2007. Patricia was the NI Director for the Multiple Sclerosis Society from 2008 - 2018.

Patricia has served as a member of the Governing Body of Queen's University Belfast; was a member of the Business in Community Board; a Non-Executive Director in the NI Prison Service and a Trustee of Action for Children. She is currently a lay member of the Tax Tribunal, a member of the Board of Governors at Strathearn School, an Associate Consultant with the HSC Leadership Centre and a member of the NHS Pay Review Body.


 Robert Bannon

Mr Robert Bannon has spent almost 30 years in the Insurance industry gaining extensive experience in sales, resource and administrative management, strategic planning, business development and budget management. In recent years he has successfully developed his own consultancy practice specialising in human resource management, organisational development, coaching, mentoring, recruitment and selection. Robers is currently a Lay Representative with the Northern Ireland Medical and Dental Training Agency. Mr Bannon has declared that he has not engaged in any political activity during the last five years.


 Mark Campbell

Mr. Mark Campbell is a qualified social worker having worked in child protection and mental health. He established, led and managed the Psychiatry of Old Age Team in North Down and Ards implementing Community Care reforms before appointment to Newry where he managed and further developed dementia services in Down and South Armagh.

Mr. Campbell was an inspector with Eastern Health and Social Services Board and Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority from 2001 to 2012. Awarded and MBA in Health and Social Care Management, the Advanced Award in Social Work and LLM Master of Laws (QUB). In 2012 he was appointed Head of Regulation and Inspection by the Isle of Man Government designing and implementing a proportionate, targeted and risk-based model of health and social care regulation.

Appointed to judicial office as an Experienced Member with the Review Tribunal (2015) and as an adjudicator with Criminal Injuries Compensation Appeals Panel (2019). Served as Council Member with Pharmaceutical Society NI from 2016 to 2020.

He has declared that he has not engaged in any policial activity during the last 5 years.


Dorothy Whittington

Professor Dorothy Whittington is Emeritus Professor of Health Psychology in the University of Ulster.  She has published extensively on communication, social skill and quality assurance in health care and other contexts.  She has held executive and non-executive board level posts in the Higher Education Academy, in North Bristol NHS Acute Care Trust and in the Northern Health and Social Care Trust in Northern Ireland.  She is an Education Associate of the General Pharmaceutical Council and acts as a lay member of the Council's panel for the accreditation of University courses leading to qualification in Pharmacy.  Professor Whittington has declared that she has not engaged in any political activity during the last five years.  

Sean McKeever