Information Technology Services

ITS is responsible for the provision of a wide range of regional ICT systems, services, and projects to support the business objectives of all Health and Social Care (HSC) organisations throughout Northern Ireland. These services range from the routine support of large, complex clinical, business and social care systems, to the procurement and implementation of large projects supporting the ongoing modernization and transformation of health care in Northern Ireland.

ITS is responsible for annual ICT expenditure of around £35 million and has over  220 staff who support approximately 70,000 users across nearly 300 services and systems. ITS handles over 15,000 incidents and 35,000 service requests from its HSC customers per year.

Although primarily based  within Centre House in the Belfast City Centre, ITS has small offices in Londonderry, Armagh and Ballymena

ITS provides a cost effective means of delivering regional ICT projects and services to HSC operating to industry best practice and providing improved levels of service availability and resilience to meet the needs of all stakeholders.

ITS Structure and Roles

Assistant Director of ITS

David Bryce: david.bryce@hscni.net

Head of Operations(Development, Wharehouse, and Integration) 

Susan Campbell: susan.campbell@hscni.net

Programme Manager  (Business Systems)

Roger McCully: roger.mccully@hscni.net

Customer Service Manager

Hugh Fullerton: hugh.fullerton@hscni.net

Head of Operation
(Datacentres)

Ben Doran:
ben.doran@hscni.net

Programme Manager  (eHealth)  

Stephen Beattie: stephen.beattie@hscni.net

Service Resource Manager

Maggie McNally: maggie.mcnally@hscni.net

Head of Operation (Infrastructure)

Paddy Carville: paddy.carville@hscni.net

Programme Manager (Laboratory Information Management Systems)

Craig Young: craig.young@hscni.net

 

Head of Operation
(Data Centres)

Tony Doherty: tony.doherty@hscni.net

Programme Manager
(Baseline Project Shared Services)

Alan McAlister: alan.mcalister@hscni.net

 

 

Infrastructure and Architecture

  • Head of Operation Infrastructure
  • HSC Data Centres
  • Regional Network Support
  • Service Desk
  • Desktop Support
  • Security
  • Web Services
  • IT Service Management
  • Infrastructure related Programme projects
  • Technical Design Authority support to HSCB

Integration, Data Warehousing & New Systems Development

  • Integration
    • Expand and consolidate capability
  • Regional HSC Data Warehouse
    • Expand and consolidate capability
  • New Systems Development
    • Targeted applications development
    • .net web based applications

Business Systems

  • Support for existing Business Systems
  • Migration from old systems to replacement systems
  • ICT support for Business Systems Transformation Programme
  • Business System related Programme Projects
  • Service level Management

Systems

  • Support for existing Community and Social services systems
  • Development of support function for new systems procurement and implementation
  • Community, Social Services and Primary Care related Programme Projects
  • GMS ICT Support

 Customer Services

  • Support for existing Secondary Care Systems
  • Screening Systems
  • Secondary Care related Programme Projects
  • Integration between sectors
  • Clinical messaging

Resources

  • Implementation of Programme Project standards
  • Providing information to HSCB as Commissioners
  • Performance management
    • Reporting against progress time, resource and budget
  • Support, training and mentoring of project managers
  • Small team of “peripatetic” project managers

Data Centre Migration, Services and Facilities

  • Management of Data Centres
  • Management of Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery
  • Infrastructure Transformation Programme Management

Baseline Project Shared Services

Laboratory Information Management Systems (LIMS)

eHealth